$vboptions[bbtitle]
Not Yet a Member?
You are missing a lot of fun
Page 51 of 155 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361101151 ... LastLast

Hiya.

I've been visiting BHP for a few months now, mainly through random hair-related google searches. And then today, it told me I'd have to register if I wanted to continue viewing the site. So here I am!

I'm a college student currently located in New York. My sister, who is a year younger than me, began transitioning to natural hair nearly two years ago. She was constantly after my mother and I to give up the "creamy crack." After much persistence, she finally convinced us to give it a try!

I've always hated having my hair relaxed, but for many women of my mum's generation, relaxing was the only way to "manage" their children's hair, and their own hair. By the time this school year began, I was feeling particularly lazy and unmotivated to relax. In order to deal with new growth, I flat ironed my hair almost daily. It was fried! Last month, I convinced my mum to chop off all the hair she had been dutifully relaxing my whole life. Lo and behold, my natural hair is amazing! The more I can learn about it, the better. I'm forever reading up on the science of hair, looking for different styles and products. It's become quite a passionate hobby!

When my hair was relaxed, I took awful care of it, so it never grew. Now, I'm working towards healthy, happy, long, naturally curly hair (isn't everyone?). I'm only a month off of BC'ing, so I know I have a long way to go. Knowledge is power! The more I can learn, the better.

I hope I'll be a productive member of this community, although I'd prefer to lurk :P
    "What we have here is a dreamer, someone completely out of touch with reality. When she jumped, she probably thought she could fly."

last relaxer - Nov. '09
    BC - March '10

fotki [click]

Welcome, Hysterique! Glad to have you here. You'll learn so much...