View Full Version : At-Home-Perms Vs. The Salons: Which do you use?

Lost_In_Perdition
08-23-2008, 07:37 PM
I use to go to the salon every 3 months before I moved out of my parents home in San Francisco and in with my boyfriend in Santa Ana, California. Then I couldn't find a black salon without going far away so I began doing my perms at home, now I do it out of habit. Well, I'm taking my braids out right now, don't have much money, wanna take good care of my hair, but I'm torn, should I go to the salon and get a "good" perm and a trim, or do it myself?

What are your opinions of at-home-perms vs. going to the salon?

1. Do you go to the salon only?
2. Do you use at-home-perms only?
3. Do you use both?
4. Do you use neither, preferring to go at it naturally?

kara
08-23-2008, 09:41 PM
I am not good at doing it myself.

CREODiiVA
08-23-2008, 11:07 PM
I do it At home ! Mom does it For Me !

jasnian0313
08-24-2008, 09:16 AM
ive never gotten a perm at the salon...ive only done them @ home. i dont think that u need to go to the salon to get a good relaxer either...my sister does her own relaxers and her hair is nice and thick and healthy...shes been doing it for years and she does mine...

leentora
08-24-2008, 09:52 AM
Salon is a thing of the past for me, I have learnt over the yrs to do it myself, see my albums I have my own salon at home girl, I have even learn how to dust/trim my own hair.

Please take into consideration - this works for me and is my own opinion. :)

denalove
08-24-2008, 09:53 AM
I won't ever give my self a relaxer. Salon only

CREODiiVA
08-24-2008, 09:55 AM
Salon is a thing of the past for me, I have learnt over the yrs to do it myself, see my albums I have my own salon at home girl, I have even learn how to dust/trim my own hair.

Please take into consideration - this works for me and is my own opinion. :)

I would only advice someone to go to the salon If they have no one else to do it for them ,..And they cant do it themselves..