View Full Version : How to keep new growth soft?!

xrainbowmarkersx
02-24-2011, 07:58 AM
GAH! My new growth is killing me! I have this style where its super short in the back and longer in the front but now I wanna grow it all out. The only problem is that I keep ripping out my hair in the back because the new growth gets to thick and coarse(best way I can explain it) there. Even with a wide tooth comb. Any suggestions on how to keep it soft?

Nimi
02-24-2011, 08:17 AM
How does you hair react to Shea butter? I mix shea butter, castor oil and water together in a spray bottle and spray on my new growth. It does a great job of softening my new growth.

xrainbowmarkersx
02-24-2011, 09:03 AM
How does you hair react to Shea butter? I mix shea butter, castor oil and water together in a spray bottle and spray on my new growth. It does a great job of softening my new growth.

I'm not sure, I've never tried it before. Where can I find the Shea butter ad castor oil at? And are they kind of expensive?

DiggyNaps
02-24-2011, 12:35 PM
I'd say start off with a hot oil treatment and see what happens first. Try Olive Oil or Wheat Germ Oil. If you live in NYC I can tell you where to go for the WGO and Shea Butter.

jusstoya
02-24-2011, 12:40 PM
Scurl is good for softening ng.
Cowashing & dc'ing regularly.

ETA: How is it ripping out in the back? Is it snagging on your clothes? Or while your combing it?

godiva
02-24-2011, 02:01 PM
^ITA with the cowashing and DCing regularly. What are you using to moisturize in between washings? Are you combing dry hair?

Curlgenie
02-24-2011, 03:29 PM
i normally use coconut oil or castor oil the latter works wonders for me

CherriPepsi
02-24-2011, 10:53 PM
I'd say start off with a hot oil treatment and see what happens first. Try Olive Oil or Wheat Germ Oil. If you live in NYC I can tell you where to go for the WGO and Shea Butter.